Kitchen Garden Herb Omelet

2 Oct

Hello lovelies, kitchen garden comforts are the topic of my day!

So this is a slightly weird post for me, because I don’t really abide eggs. It has been about 30 years of avoiding any food that smells remotely of egg, even cake! I was once given an egg concoction with some uncooked egg whites and I remember that it was immediately fired back out involuntarily but necessarily! It was so bad that 30 years on and I still hardly abide eggs.

Still I have somehow managed to suddenly decide in the past couple of years that I must drink coffee (that was an overnight weird scenario) and eat eggs (that crept up on me over the past few weeks). I eat hard boiled eggs and things with egg that don’t smell eggy (I told you this post was weird) but now apparently I am good with omelet.

It certainly tells me that I am on the right track by getting to know myself properly, because apparently I don’t know myself at all!

I have a garden, and I like to grow foods and flowers, but I have a particular favourite garden – my kitchen garden, filled with herbs and other foods. I tend to raid the garden every evening towards dinner. I always pick parsley, garlic scapes, dill, coriander and spinach and toss them into my salad bowl. More recently I have been making scrambled eggs with dill, parsley and cheese (for others – I’m not quite at the scrambled egg stage just yet!).

But although I am confused I am rolling with the fact that I now like omelet. I prepare it as a dinner meal for myself and the Persian cat because she loves it too. The Ro rascal is not an egg fan like me.

This recipe is based on my desire to use numerous kitchen garden ingredients – which thankfully happen to be awesome deliciousness with egg.

Kitchen Garden Herb Omelet

  • 5 free range eggs
  • handful of dill finely chopped
  • small bunch parsley finely chopped
  • 5 garlic scapes finely chopped
  • small bunch of alfalfa sprouts (optional)
  • 1 small tomato chopped
  • 5 medium spinach leaves roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup grated mild-type cheese
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1-2 Tblspn butter or oil

Method

Whisk eggs, add all the other ingredients and mix well. Heat butter in a frypan on medium and when bubbling add egg mixture. Leave to cook until the top is set, then flip half over on itself and allow to cook for a further 1-2 minutes until fully cooked.

Serve immediately with a fresh garden salad and warm buttered baguette. This meal is light enough for breakfast for 4 and yet also makes a healthy dinner dish for 2. (Note this is also delicious cold!).

While I realise omelets are old school I am bringing back the 80’s baby, because, well, it’s been that long, literally! And if it’s any comfort to you, this omelet is almost quicheesque, which is rather 90’s and…I’m heading towards egg-fashionable…a deggade at a time!

Enjoy a lovely light, healthy, and very yummy omelet my lovelies. Super easy, yet classic and delish at the same time! For me, at the moment, eating is about healthy, light, and tasty. This ticks all the boxes!

I can’t help but feel uber happy being able to bring my own homegrown beautiful fresh herbs and vegetables into my kitchen and into my meals! It adds a different dimension to cooking and feeding my family!

Lovely, eggs, my lovelies!

Leave a Reply

www.positivityblog.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

cozy sanctuary

comfy and homely nest

movita beaucoup

full of crap

Mrs Lil's Homemade

irreplaceably me

