Natural Baking Soda Tooth Powder

16 Sep

Hello there lovelies!

Are your pearly whites sparkly white? Do they feel clean? Your breath fresh there Bob? Or does your mouth feel like you’ve been chewing bits of bark? Or have you the furry feeling???

One of the very first things I altered when learning to avoid chemicals was my toothpaste. I’ve never been a huge fan of commercial toothpastes and have tried many different ones. I have never been satisfied that one was doing a better job than the other and always felt that what I was consuming wasn’t the best. You can mask a lot with strong faux flavours like mint! 

So it was an easy choice to start with in attempting to live more organically and naturally! 

When I came across baking soda as a basis for tooth powder I was intrigued to say the least! I looked over the ingredients and was satisfied that it might be worth trying. I was already a huge fan of baking soda as a natural cleaner/cleanser so why wouldn’t I try this!

I gathered the ingredients I needed, added the chosen natural ‘flavour’ and was totally gobsmacked! It was horrible and bitty in my mouth! It was terrible! But I continued using it for a few days, just to give it a good trial period, and then when it was still horridly horrible I re-thought what I had done. I realised it was the cinnamon ‘flavour’ I had used, which was far too coarsely ground cinnamon instead of essential oils. 

I decided to try again in my quest for lovely clean teeth, fresh breath and no chemicals. This time I used only essential oils and I was successful and have never ever had to use commercial toothpastes again! It has been one and a half years and my teeth and mouth, my oral hygiene in general, feels peppermint perfectly healthy!

Below is the recipe I use, and I also always incorporate clove oil to keep from getting sensitive teeth. 

It is adaptable to individual taste, but I promise you will not be disappointed with the results and I am confident you won’t want to return to chemically-formulated commercial toothpastes again. That the toothpowder comes at low cost is, well, an added bonus inspiring!

 

 

Baking Soda Toothpowder/Toothpaste

 

  • 500g baking soda
  • 1/8-1/4 tspn stevia powder or alternative (a natural sweetening powder found in health food stores)
  • 10 drops peppermint essential oil (or lemon, cinnamon, spearmint (alternative during pregnancy and breastfeeding), clove oil, or combination) 

Place baking soda in an airtight container or jar, add the stevia (to personal taste) and the essential oils, and shake well to combine. Dampen your toothbrush and dip into the toothpowder to coat the bristles well. Brush away that horrid furry feeling! Your teeth will feel so clean and your breath so fresh. 

Baking soda is an amazing cleansing agent and helps keep your mouth and breath fresh for hours. Baking soda is also an amazing natural bleaching agent and if you have teeth stains these should slowly lighten and new stains will be thwarted by the regular use of this toothpowder.

If you don’t get fluoride in your water intake, you might want to ask your dentist or healthcare professional if you should take supplements.

Happy healthy oral hygiene my lovelies! It’s worth it!

…now if you have any ideas on how to get my children to use it let me know, because they have tried bless them but I simply cannot force make convince them!

 

Leave a Reply

www.positivityblog.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

cozy sanctuary

comfy and homely nest

movita beaucoup

full of crap

Mrs Lil's Homemade

irreplaceably me

